Needing some Motivation

FullSizeRender-5

I have about four more weeks until my last fall semester of my undergrad. With that said, I’m growing really restless in finishing. Whenever I’m about to finish something such as a long exam, a semester,  I start to get antsy and want to finish as quickly as I can. Lately I’ve even become careless and that’s not me.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes God gives me a song in my heart to sing, meditate on, and be completely blown away by how He gives me exactly what I pray for  which awhile ago was, “Lord I need motivation.”

When I tell you I am blown away with how my Daddy God guides me back to Himself. When I need motivation, it’s not me asking Him to tell me how awesome I am (which I am not), or how smart I am, or to just keep going, there is light at the end of the tunnel… no. He allows me to remember what He has done for me. That I once was an enemy of God, and now I am a daughter of the King. That the old has past and the new has come, that Jesus has paid it all. That the joy of the Lord is my strength!

“The Lord is my strength  and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him” – Psalm 28:7 Guys, I literally chuckled at this, because at this point I’m lookin’ like Squidward with exhausted eyes, https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3154/4568451679_a6ea2ab9f5_z.jpg all hope being drained out of me. He is so sweet.

“Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts. And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him” – Colossians 3:15-17 I am reminded that in all that I do, I do not do it for myself, otherwise I’ll get to the point where I have been for a while. But that I do it to give God all the glory,  for it is God that has given me the grace to be able to do good deeds.

What motivates me is remembering the message of Christ. Now that I have fellowship with God, I seek Him and He delights in directing my steps, and when hard times arrive, Christ will be enough to make tornado storms feel like scattered rain because He walks with me. Charles Spurgeon in his sermon “The Joy of the Lord, the Strength of His People” said it best:

“How sweet is it to think over all the Lord has done; how he has revealed himself of old, and especially how he has displayed his glory in the covenant of grace, and in the person of the Lord Jesus Christ. How charming is the thought that he has revealed himself to me personally, and made me to see in him my Father, my friend, my helper, my God. Oh, if there be one word out of heaven that cannot be excelled, even by the brightness of heaven itself, it is this word, “My God, my Father,” and that sweet promise, “I will be to them a God, and they shall be to me a people.” There is no richer consolation to be found: even the Spirit of God can bring nothing home to the heart of the Christian more fraught with delight than that blessed consideration. When the child of God, after admiring the character and wondering at the acts of God, can all the while feel “he is my God; I have taken him to be mine; he has taken me to be his; he has grasped me with the hand of his powerful love; having loved me with an everlasting love, with the bands of lovingkindness has he drawn me to himself; my beloved is mine and I am his;” why, then, his soul would fain dance like David before the ark of the Lord, rejoicing in the Lord with all its might.” http://www.spurgeon.org/sermons/1027.htm

God is so faithful, that if He got me to this point in my undergrad of collage, He’ll get me through untill I have completed the task, “being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus” – Philippians 1:6 

Maybe your lack of motivation and drive for something isn’t school, but in your work place, in your marriage, raising children, or even just to get out of bed. All God wants you to do is seek Him and remember how He’s brought you out of the depths and He will remain in you as you remain in Him. If you don’t know Him to be this kind of protective and caring Father, I encourage you to be open to reading His beautiful words for yourself, with a prayer asking God to open your heart to His Gospel (the good news of Jesus Christ). There you will find rest, salvation, and freedom for your soul.

2 thoughts on “Needing some Motivation

  1. chaseparker06 says:

    Zuleika,

    You have such a beautiful, open, and positive spirit when writing. Sharing your faith, beliefs, and daily struggles can be difficult and vulnerable. You are so brave to share with us and I feel as if I am learning patience through your experiences. Honestly, your personal approach to scripture and what you’re learning makes the ideas of the Bible more accessible. Your blog would be a great source for a devotional. (I hope you consider writing one someday.)

    Best of luck to you in these last few weeks of the semester,

    Emily Nickles

    Like

    • zuleikajamilla says:

      Emily, I sincerely appreciate you and your comment. I have always been a writer, and until recently as of this past year, I have been encouraged to write again. I kinda lost my desire and passion for writing (I used to write a lot of poetry and short stores) and wanted to be a writer. Now I feel like that’s still possible, but now there will be a new element to it that I NEVER thought I would ever write about since it was so foreign to me growing up – Christianity lol. I say all that to say, I so deeply thank you for your encouraging and loving words. You are LOVED!
      Zu

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

