Giving Thanks Always

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I wanted to share a devotion from Oswald Chambers in “My Utmost for His Highest.” I read it last week and was gut wrenched to say the least (that may not sounds appealing), but it was so good that I’ve thought about how that is evident in my own life. We are in the month of November which means a lot of us are getting ready for the Thanks Giving holiday. There will be a lot of posts about what we are grateful for which is good and wonderful, however it’s usually always the good stuff we praise. If there is ever a time when something unexpected happens, or we didn’t get what we wanted, we easily complain. We start to look to ourselves to fix the problem (which is exhausting), we start to blame ourselves or others, and the list goes on. I have been guilty of this myself, where my faith in God becomes weary and a struggle because I keep worrying, I don’t trust, and I hadn’t asked what God wanted to do through me in those hard moments.

Friends, we are to be thankful for everything; the good, bad, all of it.

“Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present you request to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:4-7

That sounds easier said then done, but God’s Word says to keep our eyes fixed on Jesus, “the pioneer an perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of God” Hebrews 12:2. Jesus perfects our faith when we are trusting Him, knowing He is our joy, which cannot be shaken easily by the wind and waves of life.

I am by no means saying this as a “get over yourself” message, but to encourage you that God is in control. Put your trust and faith in the One who paid it all for you to come to God freely to put in your requests, be in thanksgiving, and then have peace. Thank God for to have His perfect peace!!!

I love you

Devotion

Ye are Not Your Own

“Know ye not that…ye are not your own?” 1 Corinthians 6:19

There is no such things as a private life – “a world within a world” – for a man or woman who is brought into fellowship with Jesus Christ’s sufferings. God breaks up the private life of his saints, and makes it a thoroughfare for the world on the one hand and for Himself on the other. No human being can stand that unless he is identified with Jesus Christ. We are not sanctified for ourselves, we are called into fellowship of the Gospel, and things happen which have nothing to do with us, God is getting us into fellowship with Himself. Let His have His way, if you do not, instead of being of the slightest use to God in His Redemptive work in the world, you will be a hinderance and a clog.

The first thing God does with us is to get us based on rugged Reality until we do not care what becomes of us individually as long as He gets His way for the purpose of His Redemption. Why shouldn’t we go through heartbreaks? Through those doorways God is opening up ways of fellowship with His Son. Most of us fall and collapse at the first trip of pain; we sit down on the threshold of God’s purpose and die away of self-pity, and all so called Christian sympathy will aid us to our death bed. But God will not. He comes with the grip of the pierced hand of His Son, and says, – “Enter into fellowship with me; arise and shine” – If through a broken heart God can bring His purposes to pass in the world, then thank Him for breaking your heart.

5 thoughts on “Giving Thanks Always

  1. laynerussell says:

    Thank you so much for this re-centering post. I have been so stressed out this week about doing ‘well enough’ in my classes but you are right: anxiety misses the point. I will do well enough for whatever the plan is for me and should be thankful for that and not worried that it won’t be what I had in mind. There is a much bigger and better plan than any I could come up with on my own and it will be better than ok in the end. God is bigger than our failures and our fears. ❤

    Like

    • zuleikajamilla says:

      Layne!

      I noticed I got your name way wrong the last time I posted on your post, I apologize!
      On another note, I am so thankful that you were encouraged. That can easily be my default of trying to do things right all the time and perfect and it’s so exhausting! It’s in those moments I’ve had to break away and just remember that I don’t have to be so overwhelmed with such temporary things! Peace is for me and you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 9nsuleiman9 says:

    Zuleika,

    Thank you so much for bringing this topic up. I always feel a little weird around Thanksgiving anyway because I was always taught to be grateful each and everyday – not just one day out of the year. I understand Thanksgiving is a day to ground us and remind us that we should be giving thanks, but like you said some people focus too much on one thing.

    It is so important to accept not only the good things that come to us in this life, but also the challenges and hardships we face. I am firm believer that our hardships and struggles serve to bring us closer to God. It is when we are at our most difficult that we need to step back and be grateful for God’s guidance and support. Great post!

    Nadiyah

    Like

    • zuleikajamilla says:

      Nadiyah, what a pretty name 🙂
      I agree with you 100% on being thankful always, it’s always nice to have that time in the year as well, to have family and friends around and celebrate together with yummy meals that put us to sleep lol.

      As you said, hardships are just part of life, and it make take awhile to get in a posture of seeing something not good, ideal, or even unexpected as something to be thankful for. The awesome thing about God, is that it’s in those hard times that He just wants us to draw closer to Him when we are hurting, so He can comfort us and help us preserver in faith! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

