If the Son has set you free, you shall be free indeed.

IMG_9390

There has been something so heavy on my heart lately. It usually always is, but this past week, I have been really in awe of my Father. What I mean is, God astounds me. Of how much He loves me, and how He continues to allow me to be aware of His love for me.

I can’t escape it, even if I wanted to. Like back when I didn’t know God for myself, I didn’t grow up in a Christian house hold, I wasn’t surrounded by loving correction where there was grace and forgiveness. Love was shaken if anybody hurt the other… I just come from a broken and grimy background (anyone else?). I was desiring everyone’s approval of me and was paralyzed by what other’s thought of me. In the inside I wanted to hit them and spit up hurtful words, but I was too chicken. I lived in fear about a lot of things and I was enslaved. Questions of not having enough, or why my life didn’t look like so-and-so’s. But even in my grimy and sticky mess, when I felt ashamed and unattractive, when I reeked of sin and death, God desired that I would believe with all of my heart that Jesus came to die for the unrighteous. That…
“‘He Himself bore our sins’ in his body on the cross, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; ‘by his wounds we are healed.'” – 1 Peter 2:24

Jesus who was born free of sin, came to die in my rightful place. He died not because I did anything right. Who do you know that would die for you while you’re still self centered? Selfish? how about arrogant and cocky, or if you say mean things about them or lie, cheat, and steal? Not any human being ever. But Jesus did. And He rose again three days later so that I can be forgiven forever; because of the blood of Jesus, God’s only perfect, sinless son, the ultimate sacrifice.

There is a song that I love to sing by Bethel music called “Love Came Down,” It goes,

“Love came down and rescued me

love came down and set me free,

I am yours,

I am forever yours.”

Is that not CRAZY LOVE!? “This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins… God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in God.” 1 John 4:10,16

We are to LIVE in His love… this makes me laugh lol. Because He died for me, I can live freely from all that I struggle with. I can literally wake up in my identity that I am the daughter of the King, and that nothing can separate His love for me, NOTHING. That because of Christ’s life, death, and resurrection, I can be made right with God. I can kneel before Him as my Father and live in his mercy and grace and be completely changed because His desires become my desires.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve done and said, and seen some pretty gross things. But because of Christ, I am a new creation, I start brand new, “Therefore, if there is anyone in Christ, the new creation has come. The old has gone, the new is here!” 2 Corinthians 5:17 I am God’s forever. Not everything will be peachy, life doesn’t start to become perfect, but it becomes more bearable because God’s Holy Spirit lives in us when we invite Him in. “If you declare with your mouth, ‘Jesus is Lord,’ and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is in your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved.” Romans 10:9-10.

Sincerely, when you surrender your life to God, you will not be the same. Truly. That may be the scariest thing to you, but I can honestly say that it has been the best decision, and most important in my life. Whatever is going on in your life, with man it is impossible, but with God, all things are possible. Believe it, and live in that truth.

I love you.

Zu.

4 thoughts on “If the Son has set you free, you shall be free indeed.

Leave a Reply

